Our Staff

Meet the dedicated Staff of New Tacoma that are committed to providing the highest level of personal service to you and your family ensuring the best possible experience at the most difficult time. We hear over and over "You made this easier" and that's our job, to lessen your burden, fears, anxieties and most importantly, your pain. We all take this commitment very seriously and to heart because all funeral homes provide funerals, caskets and cremation, we also provide exceptional customer service.

Ron Messenger, President
Email: ron@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253 564-1311

With over 40 years of experience in the funeral profession, Ron comes to New Tacoma dedicated to providing the highest level of professional service to the families of University Place and the surrounding communities. After working for Buck & Cindy Thompson for 17 years at Mountain View Funeral Home, I bring the values and morals they possessed and instilled in their staff here to New Tacoma where our ownership is our cemetery lot interment owners, not an out of state corporation.

Ron also serves his profession as a cemetery representative on the WA State Department of Licensing Cemetery & Funeral Board, recently serving two terms as Chair of the Board and is a member of Lakewood Rotary.


Jim Hammond, Director of Sales
Email: jim@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253 564-1311

Jim Hammond and his staff can assist your family with information on preplanning their cemetery and funeral arrangements. Jim has been helping families preplan for over 25 years and is one of the area's most respected in his position. Jim is the Dean of the Sales College division of the International Cemetery, Cremation & Funeral Association's University.Please give Jim or his staff a call today with your preplanning questions.


Sally Williamson, Administrative Manager
Email: sally@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253-564-1311


Mike Woodhouse, Managing Funeral Director
Email: mike@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253 564-1311

Mike brings an unusual amount of care and compassion to the families we serve. He is truly a person dedicated to helping others. Mike oversees our funeral directors ensuring proper, current training and the highest of standards are always followed.


Ted Anderson, Funeral Director
Email: ted@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253 564-1311

Ted Anderson has been in the funeral profession for over 21 years and shows compassion and interest with every family he serves. Ted has a unique ability to listen to specific family needs and follows through with every request with meticulous detail.


       Roland Henderson, Funeral Director
       Email: roland@newtacoma.com
       Office Phone: 253-564:1311


Jamie Smith, Funeral Director (part time)

Jamie presents a calmness that is quickly appreciated by families, his ability to communicate and make people feel at ease in some difficult situations makes him a true asset to New Tacoma and the families he assists.


Paul Wilson, Staff Associate


Nyle Soper, Staff Associate


Christopher Engh, Cemetery Advisor
Email: chris@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253-472-3369

Chris oversees our office located at Tacoma Cemetery, 4801 South Tacoma Way. 


Rachel Ku, Cemetery Advisor
Office Phone: 253-564-1311


Lyuba German, Cemetery Advisor
Email: lyuba@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253-564-1311


Pamela Maddess, Cemetery Advisor
Email: pamela@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253-564-1311


Janelle Sloper, Cemetery Advisor
Email: janelle@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253-564-1311


Ronnie Broadus, Cemetery Advisor
Email: ronnie@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253-564-1311

Ronnie is currently on a leave of absence but should you need his assistance, call our office and we can pass on the request.


Rick Brown, Cemetery Advisor
Email: rick@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253-564-1311


Corky Vargas, Administration
Email: corky@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253-564-1311


Shirley Davis , Administration
Email: funeral@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253-564-1311


Bryndi Riggs, Administration
Email: bryndi@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253-564-1311


Carole Cooper, Receptionist
Email: carole@newtacoma.com
Office Phone: 253-564-1311


Scott Harding, Cemetery Foreman
Email: newtacomainfo@gmail.com
Office Phone: 253 564-1311

Our Cemetery Maintenance Staff works hard all year, including through inclement weather, to maintain the beauty of our locations. Many of the staff have over 20 years of experience working in our cemeteries. Please take a moment when visiting our grounds to thank the crew for their efforts, they appreciate and deserve the recognition. 


Ron Anijo, Grounds & Maintenance-Tacoma Cemetery


Bob Bowlby, Grounds & Maintenance


David Jorgensen, Grounds & Maintenance


Terry Schatz, Grounds & Maintenance


Nicholas Wight, Grounds & Maintenance